We prepare educators for a life of leadership and service in the classroom, the Church and the community.

Discover your potential for positive impact, with an educational curriculum designed to build opportunities and advance your career. 

The College of Education is one of the oldest educator-preparation institutions in the nation. CUC was founded in 1864 as a Lutheran teacher preparation college. The College of Education is inspired by our rich past history and our mission in higher education.

The College of Education goals are to:

  • Serve long-established educational needs for degrees in higher education.
  • Initiate new educational programs serving the needs of private and public schools.
  • Fill emerging needs in the educational marketplace.
  • Continue relevant educational services through innovative programs, strong faculty instruction, and leadership in the educational field.
  • Nurture and encourage lifelong learning.

The College is nationally recognized by the Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE), the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE), the Ohio Department of Education (ODE), and the Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC).

Divisions and Degrees

The College is committed to student success in all programs we offer. The College houses four Divisions of content programming. 

Division of Curriculum, Technology & Inclusive Education

Division of Educational Leadership

Division of Teaching and Learning

  • Teacher
  • School leader
  • School counselor
  • Director of Christian Education (DCE)
  • Early childhood educator
  • Elementary schools educator
  • Lutheran Teacher Education (LTE)
  • Middle school 
  • Secondary school
  • Special education