Print Services is a department that provides efficient, punctual, thorough and courteous service in order to fulfill the printing needs of the Concordia-Chicago community. Print Services is staffed entirely by student workers. We are all happy to see you in our department during any of our hours.
Klinck Memorial Library, 2nd Floor
M-Th: 7:30 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Fri: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Sun: 1 - 11 p.m.
M-Th: 8 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Fri: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sat: 9:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Frequently Asked Questions
For each semester of the school year, all students receive an initial printing allowance of $10, which is equivalent to more than 300 black and white pages at a cost of $0.03 per printed, single-sided page (double-sided, or duplex printed pages will be charged at $0.06 per page).
This balance does not carry over and is reset each semester. The print costs and quota balance listed above are for the current school year and are subject to review for future years.
No, the $10 print allowance does not carry over and is reset at the end of each semester. No refunds of remaining balances will be issued.
The print quota was determined by studying typical student print needs over the course of several semesters. The quota was set at a level that covers the print needs of the vast majority of students and also allows for expected system issues.
When you reach your allotted quota, or attempt to print a job that would exceed your remaining balance, a message will appear on the lab PC notifying you that your balance is too low. You will need to add credit to your balance in order to print.
To add credit to your print quota, please visit the CougarNet helpdesk during fulltime staff business hours (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.). You may add to your print balance with either cash or check.
Please consider your printing needs for the remainder of the semester when adding to the balance as all balances are reset at the end of the semester and any remaining amount will be lost.
No. All student workers must be authorized to print to their departments' student worker print queues. The cost for printing on these queues is billed back to the departments. Only the student's personal printing on lab printers will count against the quota. Please note that a billed department may request specific details of a student worker's printing to their queue to avoid abuse.
All print balances are reset at the end of every semester, and any remaining balance is not carried over. Any additions to the balance made by the student will also be reset at the end of the semester in which it was applied.
There is a program called WBALANCE installed on all lab machines that will allow students to view their current printing balance. To view your balance, hover the mouse over the dollar sign icon by the clock on any lab computer on campus. This program will also appear when a user attempts to print at which time it will display the charges for the pending print job and require confirmation from the user to complete the job.
Balances cannot be transferred from one individual to another. However, you may choose to print a document for someone else using your account, the cost of which will be deducted from your balance.
The cost per print was determined by evaluating paper, toner and maintenance costs per page on the lab printers.
Assuming the same number of printed sides, there is no cost difference between single-sided and double-sided printing. The $0.03 charge for black and white printing is per side, not per physical page. Paper makes up a very small part of the total printing cost, therefore there is no price difference.
The student print credit is designed to cover basic printing needs as well as potential system problems that may occur during the semester, including, but not being limited to, the following:
- Paper jams
- Toner smears
- Failure to retrieve a job
- Printing the wrong document
- Printing the wrong orientation
- Printing multiple copies unintentionally
- Failing to log off a computer resulting in unauthorized use of your account by another user
Because the allowance takes system issues into consideration, under no circumstances will any refund or credit be issued.
A print confirmation window that appears when printing in the labs allows the user the opportunity after clicking "Print" to review the print job details and cost before sending the job to the printer. After the user confirms the details, the job can no longer be canceled.
Please retrieve your print jobs in a timely manner. No credits will be issued for lost print jobs.