Concordia Experience

Faith and Festivals Calendar

Calendar

  • Year of 2013

  1. export
    Sunday, January 27: Concordia Celebrates National Lutheran Schools Week

    Lutheran Schools throughout the United States will be celebrating National Lutheran School Week, January 27-February 2, 2013.
  2. export
    Monday, February 04: Mission Week at CUC

    Monday, Feb. 4—Friday, Feb. 8 Mission organizations will be in the KCC throughout the week. Visit their displays to learn more about God’s work!
  3. export
    Saturday, March 23: “The Week that Changed the World”

    “The Week that Changed the World”An apologetics seminar with Dr. Paul Maier Saturday, March 23 from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Chapel of Our Lord, Concordia University Chicago
  4. export
    Sunday, April 21: Concordia Sunday

    Every year the Concordia University System Board of Directors designates one Sunday during the month of April for the congregations of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod to celebrate Concordia Sunday. Concordia Sunday is an opportunity to celebrate the ministries of our colleges and universities with the members of all LCMS congregations. Concordia University Chicago recently invited...
  5. export
    Friday, May 17: Baccalaureate Worship

    On Friday, May 17th at 7:30p.m. Concordia University Chicago will gather in the Chapel of Our Lord as a Christian community for The Service of Praise and Consecration -- Baccalaureate Worship where we will give thanks to our Lord for all our students who are graduating.
  6. export
    Wednesday, August 21: Service of Welcome and Induction

    Service of Welcome and Induction, Wednesday, August 21st , 4:00 p.m.-- all new students and their families are asked to attend. Students are officially inducted into the Concordia community.
  7. export
    Sunday, August 25: Golden Alumni Morning Worship Service

    Golden Alumni Morning Worship Service, Sunday, August 25th, 10:00 a.m.
  8. export
    Sunday, August 25: Opening Service of 150th Academic Year

    Sunday, Aug. 25th, 4:00—5:30 p.m.. Opening Service This serves as the formal, festival opening service for the academic year. This year it also marks the beginning of our 150th celebration. If you missed Sunday's service, click on the link below to watch a video of the event: Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 ...
  9. export
    Monday, August 26: Opening Chapel Worship

    Opening Chapel, Monday, Aug. 26th, 11:00 a.m.
  10. export
    Wednesday, August 28: Augustine, Bishop of Hippo

    Augustine, Bishop of Hippo, Wednesday, Aug. 28th, 11:00 a.m.
  11. export
    Thursday, August 29: The Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist

    The Martyrdom of St. John the Baptist, Thursday, Aug. 29th, 11:00 a.m.
  12. export
    Friday, September 13: Holy Cross (observed)

    Holy Cross, Friday, Sept. 13th (observed), 11:00 a.m.
  13. export
    Friday, September 20: St. Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist

    St. Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist, Friday, Sept. 20th, 11:00 a.m.
  14. export
    Monday, September 30: St. Michael and All Angels (observed)

    St. Michael and All Angels, Monday, Sept. 30th (observed), 11:00 a.m
  15. export
    Friday, October 04: St. Francis of Assisi, Renewer of the Church

    St. Francis of Assisi, Renewer of the Church, Friday, Oct. 4th, 11:00 a.m.
  16. export
    Friday, October 04: Homecoming Chapel

    Homecoming Chapel, Friday, Oct. 4th , 11:00 a.m.
  17. export
    Sunday, October 06: Homecoming Morning Worship Service

    Homecoming Morning Worship Service, Sunday, Oct. 6th, 10:00 a.m.
  18. export
    Monday, October 07: William Tyndale, Translator and Martyr

    William Tyndale, Translator and Martyr, Monday, Oct. 7th (observed), 11:00 a.m.
  19. export
    Friday, October 11: Founder's Day

    Founders’ Day, Friday, Oct. 11th (observed), 11:00 a.m.—festival worship marking the founding of the University at River Forest.
  20. export
    Thursday, October 17: St. Luke, Evangelist

    St. Luke, Evangelist, Thursday, Oct. 17th (observed), 11:00 a.m
  21. export
    Wednesday, October 23: St. James of Jerusalem

    St. James of Jerusalem, Brother of Jesus and Martyr, Wednesday, Oct. 23rd, 11:00 a.m.
  22. export
    Friday, October 25: Tabitha, Lydia and Phoebe, Faithful Women

    Tabitha, Lydia and Phoebe, Faithful Women, Friday, Oct. 25th, 11:00 a.m.
  23. export
    Monday, October 28: St. Simon and St. Jude, Apostles

    St. Simon and St. Jude, Apostles, Monday, Oct. 28th, 11:00 a.m.
  24. export
    Thursday, October 31: Reformation Day

    Reformation Day, Thursday, Oct. 31st, 11:00 a.m.
  25. export
    Friday, November 01: All Saints' Day

    All Saints’ Day/ Commemoration of the Faithful Departed, Friday, Nov. 1st, 11:00 a.m.
  26. export
    Friday, November 15: Lost and Found Concert

    The Christian rock band, Lost and Found will perform on Friday, November 15 at 8:30 p.m. in the Chapel of our Lord. The concert is free and open to the public. Canned food donations will be collected at the door.
  27. export
    Friday, December 06: St. Nicholas Day

    St. Nicholas, Bishop of Myra, Friday, Dec. 6th, 11:00 a.m.
  28. export
    Tuesday, December 10: Staff Recognition Service

    Staff Recognition Service, Tuesday, Dec. 10th, 10:00 a.m. – giving thanks to God for our dedicated campus staff, marking significant years of service for individuals.
  29. export
    Friday, December 13: Baccalaureate Service

    Commencement weekend begins with the Baccalaureate Service in The Chapel of Our Lord on Friday, December 13.